Post Category

Change Language


Tripura CM Biplab Kumar Deb Resigns, Manik Saha to be the new Chief Minister 4.6/5 (5)

Tripura Chief Minister Biplab Kumar Deb today submitted his resignation and the state could have a new incumbent by the end of the day

Deb announced his resignation after meeting Governor to Governor SN Arya at the Raj Bhavan. The BJP legislature party is meeting at 5 pm to elect the new CM. Party leaders Bhupender Yadav and Vinod Tawde will be observers at the meeting.

The change of leadership in Tripura follows reports of an internal tussle in the party's state unit between CM Deb and Deputy Chief Minister Jishnu Dev Varma. Varma, who is related to the erstwhile Tripura royal family, and Rajya Sabha MP Manik Saha are seen as frontrunners for the post.

Deb was in Delhi on Thursday, where he met Union Home Minister Amit Shah and BJP president JP Nadda. The resignation came about soon after his return to the state.

Tripura is slated to go to assembly elections next year. The BJP seems to be following its template - seen earlier in Uttarakhand, Karnataka and Gujarat - where they change the CM with just about a year to go for elections.

Please rate this


Print & Share this Post


Stay in our Contact and Learn More

Copyright 2022-23 Latest Khabar | Design by vstar World